Marina Allen - Candlepower

Released 04/06/21


Marina Allen glides on angelic highs, surfing the husky deep on her debut album ‘Candlepower‘; she is one of the great new voices of her generation. Writing songs that carry notes from other realms; these are kitchen table tales about love and fear, the capturing of the wild heart, sketching the breaking of dawn, bringing real life back to life.


    Marina Allen’s voice morphs from Karen Carpenter’s gentle reverence to Laura Nyro’s soulful grit, moves through the phases like some possessed Dada performance artist before throwing in a melody from Joni at her jazziest or the close harmonies of the lamented Roches when they flipped out with Robert Fripp.


    Track listing


    1. Oh, Louise
    2. Original Goodness
    3. Belong Here
    4. Sleeper Train
    5. Believer
    6. Ophelia
    7. Reunion


    Cargo - FIRELP633

    Marina Allen - Candlepower