top of page
Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers - The Witch Doctor

Released 04/06/21 on ltd black vinyl.


Recorded in 1961, but not released until 1967, The Witch Doctor features one of Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers’ all-time great line-ups: Wayne Shorter on tenor saxophone, Lee Morgan on trumpet, Bobby Timmons on piano, and Jymie Merritt on bass. Shorter and Morgan each contribute two tunes, with Timmons penning one.

Highlights include Morgan’s spectacular 6/8 modal piece “Afrique” and Shorter’s minor masterpiece “Those Who Sit And Wait.” Bobby Timmons brings the deep soul goods on his composition “A Little Busy,” and the album closes with a fleet-footed romp through Clifford Jordan’s tune “Lost and Found.”


Blue Note Records’ Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series is produced by Joe Harley and features all-analog, mastered-from-the-original-master-tapes, 180g audiophile vinyl reissues in deluxe gatefold packaging. Mastering is by Kevin Gray (Cohearent Audio) and vinyl is manufactured at Record Technology Incorporated (RTI).




  • The Witch Doctor (Side A)
  • Afrique (Side A)
  • Those Who Sit And Wait (Side A)
  • A Little Busy (Side B)
  • Joelle (Side B)
  • Lost And Found (Side B)


Decca - 3514860

Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers - The Witch Doctor

Out of stock. Ask us to order it in!

    What's New..