top of page
Yoko Ono Tribute - Ocean Child: Songs Of Yoko Ono

Curated by Death Cab For Cutie’s Ben Gibbard, Ocean Child: Songs of Yoko Onois various artist project covering songs of Yoko Ono compiled here by a generation-spanning group of musicians for whom her work has meant so much. 

It will feature contributions from David Byrne, Deerhoof, Death Cab For Cutie, The Flaming Lips, Japanese Breakfast, Jay Som, Stephin Merritt, Sharon Van Etten, Yo La Tengo and more.

On an album born out of both love and frustration, Ben evokes “the seemingly bottomless well of inspiration and enjoyment” that Yoko Ono’s music has provided, both for him and everyone else present on this compilation.

“As an advocate, the tallest hurdle to clear has always been the public’s ignorance as to the breadth of Yoko’s work” he continues, as “she has consistently created melodies as memorable as those of the best pop writers”. 

It is his sincere hope that a new crop of Yoko Ono fans fall in love with her songwriting due in small part to this album that they have put together.


Yoko Ono Tribute - Ocean Child: Songs Of Yoko Ono


    What's New..