Laura Marling - I Speak Because I Can

I Speak Because I Can is the second studio album by British singer-songwriter Laura Marling, released on 22 March 2010.


Produced by Ethan Johns, the album deals with "responsibility, particularly the responsibility of womanhood." The album was preceded by the singles "Goodbye England (Covered in Snow)", released on iTunes in December 2009 and "Devil's Spoke" on 15 March 2010. The next single released was "Rambling Man", on 10 May 2010. The track "What He Wrote" was inspired by letters from a wife to her husband in the Second World War. On 28 March 2010, I Speak Because I Can entered the official UK Charts at #4 and has been certified Silver for sales of 60,000 in the UK. Back-up vocals are provided throughout the album by Marcus Mumford, the lead singer and guitarist of London-based folk band Mumford & Sons. These are especially prevalent on the tracks "Hope in the Air" and "I Speak Because I Can".




A1 Devil's Spoke 3:39
A2 Made By Maid 2:52
A3 Rambling Man 3:16
A4 Blackberry Stone 3:29
A5 Alpha Shallows 3:42
A6 Goodbye England (Covered In Snow) 3:45
B1 Hope In The Air 4:32
B2 What He Wrote 4:07
B3 Darkness Descends 3:40
B4 I Speak Because I Can 4:00


Universal ‎– UMC9453

Laura Marling - I Speak Because I Can