top of page
Neil Young + Promise Of The Real - Noise And Flowers

Due 05/08/22 on 2xLP OR box set (2LP/CD/Blu Ray)


Neil Young + Promise Of The Real release a new live album, ‘Noise & Flowers’, that captures the group in all their glory on their 2019 European tour. The release will be accompanied by a concert film that shares the same title and is included in the album’s 2xLP+CD+Blu-ray Deluxe Edition.


‘Noise & Flowers’ documents a 9-date tour that began just two weeks after Young’s lifetime friend and manager of more than 50 years, Elliot Roberts, passed away at the age of 76. Performing alongside a photograph of Roberts taped to his road case, Young approached each show as a celebratory memorial service to honour his late friend. It’s a trek the legendary singer/songwriter describes as “wondrous.”


In the album’s liner notes, Young says, “Playing in his memory [made it] one of the most special tours ever. We hit the road and took his great spirit with us into every song. This music belongs to no one. It’s in the air. Every note was played for music’s great friend, Elliot.”

In paying tribute to the manager who guided Young’s career for over a half-century, ‘Noise & Flowers’ explores all corners of his vast discography. It balances all-timer anthems (‘Mr. Soul’, ‘Helpless’, ‘Rockin’ in the Free World’) with rarely aired ‘70s deep cuts (‘Field of Opportunity’, ‘On the Beach’) and ’90s gems (‘From Hank to Hendrix’, ‘Throw Your Hatred Down’). His frequent backing band since 2015, Promise of the Real effectively bridges the extremes in Young’s sound, infusing his raging rockers and country serenades with their casual brilliance and telepathic intuition.


The companion film (directed by Bernard Shakey and dhlovelife) emphasizes both the intimacy and ecstasy of these performances. ‘Noise & Flowers’ is entry No. PS 21 in the Neil Young Archives Performance Series of live releases – a special addition to a robust, and still-growing catalogue.




Side A

01 Mr. Soul

02 Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere

03 Helpless

04 Field Of Opportunity

05 Alabama


Side B

01 Throw Your Hatred Down

02 Rockin’ In The Free World


Side C

01 Comes A Time

02 From Hank to Hendrix

03 On The Beach

04 Are You Ready For The Country


Side D

01 I’ve Been Waiting For You

02 Winterlong

03 Fuckin’ Up



2xLP - 0093624883111

Box set - 0093624883104

Neil Young + Promise Of The Real - Noise And Flowers

Out of stock. Ask us to order it in!

    What's New..