Taylor Swift - Folklore

Folklore is the eighth studio album by American singer-songwriter Taylor Swift. It was a surprise album, released through Republic Records on July 24, 2020, eleven months after its predecessor, Lover (2019). Featuring production from Aaron Dessner and Jack Antonoff, Folklore eschews the upbeat pop production of Swift's previous albums for mellow tunes driven by piano and guitar. Critics mostly describe the album as indie folk, alternative rock, and electro-folk, although some classify it as pop. Swift wrote and recorded the album during the COVID-19 pandemic, conceiving it as "a collection of songs and stories that flowed like a stream of consciousness" rising out of her imagination. As opposed to Swift's trademark autobiographical themes, Folklore manifests vivid storytelling mostly from fictional third-person perspectives that talk about themes of introspection, nostalgia and escapism. Reflecting the lyrical content, the album's artwork sees Swift adopting a rustic, cottagecore aesthetic. Folklore received widespread critical acclaim, with emphasis on its relaxed atmosphere, emotional weight, and poetic lyricism. Many critics deemed it a bold move for Swift to experiment with indie genres unconventional to her usual styles. At the 63rd Grammy Awards, the album and its tracks garnered five nominations, including Album of the Year and Song of the Year. Folklore broke numerous records on streaming services, including the Guinness World Record for the biggest opening day for an album by a female artist on Spotify. According to Republic Records, Folklore sold two million copies in its first week globally, 1.3 million of which were sold on its first day. It reached number one in Australia, Canada, Belgium, Ireland, New Zealand, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, and several other territories.


Track listing

A1 The 1 3:42

A2 Cardigan 4:11

A3 The Last Great American Dynasty 4:03

A4 Exile 4:57

B5 My Tears Ricochet 4:28

B6 Mirrorball 3:41

B7 Seven 3:41

B8 August 4:34

B9 This Is Me Trying 3:27

C10 Illicit Affairs 3:23

C11 Invisible String 4:25

C12 Mad Woman 4:09

C13 Epiphany 5:01

D14 Betty 5:06

D15 Peace 4:06

D16 Hoax 3:52

Bonus Track

D17 The Lakes 3:32


Catalogue number - 602435034881 B0032752-01

Taylor Swift - Folklore